The Press Standards Board of Finance Ltd

Editors' Code of Practice Committee

Chairman Paul Dacre

Secretary Ian Beales PO Box 235, Stonehouse, GL10 3UF

Tel: 01453 860577 Mobile: 0771 577 0400 Email<u>: ianbeales@mac.com</u>

www.editorscode.org.uk

PRESS INFORMATION

For release on Monday, 7 December 2009

Editors' Committee reviews the Code

The Editors' Code of Practice Committee, which writes and revises the voluntary code of standards overseen by the Press Complaints Commission, is undertaking its annual review of the Code.

It welcomes suggestions from the public, civil society and the industry on how the Code might be revised to improve the system of self-regulation of the press, of which it is an essential component.

Suggestions should be sent as soon as possible, but no later than 31 January 2010, to:

Ian Beales, Code Committee Secretary, PO Box 235, Stonehouse, Glos GL10 3UF.

Or by email to: ianbeales@mac.com

Code Committee members:

Paul Dacre Daily Mail (chairman); Neil Benson, Trinity Mirror Regional Newspapers; Adrian Faber, Express and Star, Wolverhampton; Jonathan Grun, Press Association; Douglas Melloy, Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo: David Pollington, The Sunday Post; June Smith-Sheppard, Pick Me Up magazine; Hannah Walker, South London Press; Harriet Wilson, Conde-Nast Publications: and John Witherow, Sunday Times.